Skip navigation

I attended the Illinois Republican State Central Committee meeting last Saturday. Although I was not given the opportunity to speak during the public comments portion of the meeting, I do not consider myself to be a victim or a person that was intentionally silenced. If anything, it is my own fault that I wasn’t heard. As I tried to gain my composure during the train wreck that was the public comments section, I failed to raise my hand. There were others in the crowd that I was anxious to hear. Some made good points, some disappointed, but before I knew it we were being rushed out so the SCC could go into executive session. If I had been called on, this is what I would have said

Hello. My name is Ron Brzoska, and I am a precinct committeeman in Downers Grove Township. I’d like to thank the chairman and the committee for the opportunity to speak today. Instead of making comments directly to Chairman Brady, I’d like to take this opportunity to address the State Central Committee. The November elections were a disaster. They were a disaster beyond our lowest expectations. If the party were a sports franchise, we would be heading for a rebuilding year and a house cleaning. My business background makes me view the Illinois Republican Party as a business … the State Central Committee as the board of directors. As a business, the November elections have made the party a company fighting to stave off bankruptcy. When a team or a business is in such dire straights, a change in leadership is required.

I have no axe to grind. I am not a failed candidate that was slighted, or feels slighted by the party. I am here to speak on results. Not only did we fail in 2012, but we failed in 2010 as well. This isn’t about one election. This is about accountability. The Illinois GOP keeps losing and the House and Senate have already voted to keep their same failed leadership. What brought me here today, and what you are seeing in these people today, is the frustration of losing and a team that doesn’t make the changes needed to win. And if you think those of us here are frustrated, ask yourselves how the people who stayed home on election day must feel.

I don’t expect Pat Brady to resign today. If we are honest with ourselves, none of us would quit if the shoe were on the other foot. I also don’t expect you to fire him here later today, but you all need to start thinking about how you will hold the chairman and yourselves accountable. While you do that, we will be doing the same.

2 Comments

  1. Wish you would have said it. I hope you sent a copy of what you would have said to all committee members.

    • Thanks. I will.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

